UFC 198 Werdum vs Miocic – Results

 May 14, 2016, Arena da Baixada in Curitiba, Brazil

To watch exclusive UFC fight cards, including exclusive prelims, hours of original programming, events from many other organisations and an enormous library of fights, click on the banner above and sign up for UFC Fight Pass. By doing so, you are also supporting MMA Flashback, for which I am hugely grateful.

It’s not often I have skin in the game in every bout on a fight card, so as I settled in to watch UFC 198, I was braced for an exciting ride. With £25 staked, my maximum returns were £256.49:

bet 1

Fight Pass Prelims

Renato Moicano got me off to a winning start edging out Zubaira Tukhugov with a split decision win.

I thought my bets were in danger early in the next fight when late replacement Luan Chagas temporarily starched Sergio Moraes with a huge head kick. Chagas’ gas tank emptied, and for me it was 29-28 to Moraes at the final bell. One judge gave it to each fighter and the third was undecided, so the result was a draw. I thought that would kill Bet 1 and Bet 3, but I got a nice surprise when I checked my account post-event, as the draw voided the selection, and instead Bet 3 became a double on Moicano and Trinaldo to win, so all bets were still live.

Next up was Antonio Rogerio Nogueira to beat Pat Cummins in the Fight Pass featured prelim. Cummins had some success with his kicking, but wasn’t able to transition to his wrestling with Noguiera fighting off his take down attempts fairly easily. When little Nog started to let his hands go, he gave the Brazilians, and me something to cheer for, putting Cummins away late in the opening round. All bets still healthy going into the Fox Sports prelims.

Fox Sports Prelims

John Lineker was my first interest in this section of the fight card, facing Rob Font. After a couple of minutes to find his range, Lineker methodically picked his opponent apart, winning a unanimous decision and barely breaking a sweat (although somehow, one judge found a way to give a round to Font).

The remaining fight in Bet 3 was Francisco Trinaldo to beat Yancy Madeiros. As I said, I thought this bet was dead so was watching it fairly passively. Trinaldo won an entertaining war and banked me a surprise win. [DISCUSSION POINT: if Fighter A wins 4:30 of a round and Fighter B lands a big shot and inflicts 0:30 of GnP, who wins the round? It’s fighter A for me, but according to Brian Stann, it’s Fighter B. The judges agree with me, because in this case, Trinaldo was Fighter A and he won by a landslide score].

Next up, to progress Bet 2 I needed Thiago Santos to beat Nate Marquart, which he did by KO in the 1st.

I hated betting against Matt Brown in the featured prelim, as he’s one of my favourite fighters on the roster. I just couldn’t see Damien Maia losing in Brazil. Brown almost managed to fight Maia’s submission attempts for three full rounds, but the Brazil finally got the tap in the dying seconds of the final round.

Main Card

The first fight on the main card was Warlley Alves who I needed to beat Bryan Barberena to progress Bet 2. After a strong start by Alves, he tired and Barberena ground out the win. Bets 1 & 2 go down.

Next up is Shogun who needed to beat Corey Anderson to complete my veterans double. Shogun edged a really close fight and banks me a win. [DISCUSSION POINT: if fighter A completes a takedown but fighter B immediately springs to their feet, does the take down score? There was zero ground control, which is surely the purpose of the takedown.]

With bet 1 & 2 already dead, the Cyborg vs Smith bout no longer mattered to my pocket. There were no surprises though as Cyborg won by first round execution. Smith complained, but she looked done to me. The UFC needs to build a 145 women’s division, because 135ers aren’t going to want to keep stepping up to fight Cyborg in catch weight fights, and there’s no way she’s making 135.

With Anderson Silva having to pull out of his fight, be 5 is just the co-main and main events. First up, Jacare needed to handle business with Vitor. Jacare didn’t seem at all interested in using his superior grappling to submit Vitor. Instead, he dominated position and smashed his face in. Solid win for Jacare. I would personally like to see him and Bisping fight for next in line for the middleweight shot, rather than straight to it, but I think more likely, he’s front of the line.

Finally, I had Fabricio Werdum to retain his belt against Stipe Miocic, who’s another fighter I really hate betting against, and for very good reason. Late in a 1st round that Werdum was arguably edging, Stone Cold Stipe nails the charging champ with a right hook on the retreat that shut the lights out. We have a new heavyweight champ, and Tommy Toehold couldn’t be happier (if you don’t know what that means, search Youtube. You’re in for a treat).

Results

Bet 1 – £5 returning £164.06 – lose

Bet 2 – £5 returning £20.93 – lose

Bet 3 – £5 returning £19.17 – win

Bet 4 – £5 returning £10.77 – lose

Bet 5 – £5 returning £36.09 – win

I picked 12 results and got 9 wins, 2 loses and a draw, so £55.26 is a little bit disappointing as a return, but profit’s profit and finding out a bet you thought was a loser is actually a winner is always a nice bonus. A week off now to watch and write up a classic event, before pricing up UFC Fight Night: Almeida vs Garbrandt.

Settled

I do all my betting on Paddy Power because they offer a wide range of sports betting, including good coverage of MMA events. If you would like to place a bet on MMA or anything else, you would be greatly supporting the site by clicking on the banner below, creating a Paddy Power account and doing it there.

MMA Flash back encourages you to gamble responsibly and within your limits. If gambling stops being fun, stop. If you feel you have a problem with gambling, seek help from GAMCARE. They can be reached on 0808 8020 133 or http://www.gamcare.org.uk.

468x60_AFF_Misc_MultiSport_BN_GBP

 

 

Leave a Reply

