UFC Fight Night – Teixeira vs Evans

April 16, 2016 at Amalie Arena, Tampa, Florida, USA.


This event kicked off on Fight Pass with a couple of great up and down, back and forth wars between Akhmedov vs Zaleski dos Santos and Bamgbose vs Ferreira. The one I was interested in for my bet was Dodson vs Gamburyan. If you’re not a Fight Pass member, it’s something I’d thoroughly recommend for any discerning MMA fan. You would be supporting MMA Flashback greatly by clicking the Fight Pass banner above and signing up for a subscription.

John Dodson vs Manny Gamburyan

My prediction here was a decision win for Dodson (paired up with Tecia Torres also by decision), due to the fact Gamburyan hadn’t been finished since he fought Jose Aldo in 2010. Add to that a couple of years ago, they were fighting two weight divisions apart, this should have gone the distance. Nope. Fast TKO win for Dodson kills my first bet, but it gets my 7 fight accumulator off to a winning start.

Bethe Correira vs Raquel Pennington

My first TV Prelim prediction was Bethe Correia to beat the favourite Raquel Pennington. It was a really close fight and waiting for the judges to render their decision, I had no idea if I was good or not. Unfortunately for me (but not Rocky), two of the three judges went her way, and all my bets are now dead. I’m watching the rest of the card with no financial interests left.

Beneil Dariush vs Michael Chiesa

In round 1, although Chiesa gave a decent account of himself, Darius just looked a bit too much for him. That changed early in the 2nd when Chiesa found his way to Dariush’s back and to a submission finish. Well played.

Cub Swanson vs Hacran Dias

I’ll admit much of this fight was closer than I thought I would be, and as close as everyone else was predicting. Swanson looked the most likely to finish a couple of times, but had to settle for a solid decision win.

Khabib Nurmagomedov vs Darrell Horcher

Next up was former event headliner Nurmagomedov against promotional newcomer and huge underdog, Horcher. Standing, the fight was relatively cpompetitive. On the ground, there was a huge visible gulf in class. The inevitable TKO via GnP came in the 2nd round. Brave showing by Darrell Horcher, but no surprise in the result. I still think Ferguson would have won this comeback fight, but once Nurmagomedov gets some momentum back, it’ll be a brave man that bets against him.

Rose Namajunis vs Tecia Torres

If Dodson had won by decision earlier in the night, I’d still be alive in my first bet and would be funking for a Torres decision win here. As the bets were already dead by this stage of the card, I admit to switching camps and rooting for Rose. I’m a big fan of both her and boyfriend/coach Pat Barry, so with the money out of the equation, why not. It was a very close fight, but Torres drops her first career decision loss to Thug Rose.

Glover Teixeira vs Rashad Evans

No messing around in the main event. A couple of minutes into round 1, Glover connected with a left hook and put Rashad to sleep. It would have been nice if that was bringing a 7 fight accumulator in for me, but sadly, that was a distant memory before this KO.

Bet Results

So a disappointing night on the betting front. 4 out of 7 predictions came in, but that doesn’t get me paid. Never mind, time to plan my UFC 197 bets.

Paddy Power offer a wide range of sports betting, including good coverage of MMA events. If you would like to place a bet on MMA or anything else, you would be greatly supporting the site by clicking on the banner above, creating a Paddy Power account and doing it there.

MMA Flash back encourages you to gamble responsibly and within your limits. If gambling stops being fun, stop. If you feel you have a problem with gambling, seek help from GAMCARE. They can be reached on 0808 8020 133 or www.gamcare.org.uk. Gambling sites are for 18+ only. Terms and Conditions apply.

 

468x60_AFF_Misc_MultiSport_BN_GBP

 

Leave a Reply

